Schrodinger’s Third Answer

I know we touched on it a bit in class, but I can’t stop thinking about the meaning behind the cat just being gone from the box. I/m not too well-versed in Schrodinger’s experiment, but just the concept that it happened in the short story keeps coming back to me (am I Rover, obsessing over this? who knows).

The thought that limiting oneself to two choices is, actually, not all there is is kinda intriguing to me. What we thought had obvious answers becomes wrong, and a third choice is shown to us. I think I find comfort in that fact? Outside of Schrodinger’s experiment’s scope, that is. I don’t know if it’s because I can be indecisive, or if I think about the cat, free from its box of choices (is there a third option here, too?).

I think I’m just left to simmer here with this. Nothing is black and white, yes or no, despite appearances. The cat is clever and does what it wants, so if it wants to leave the box, it leaves.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment