Feeling restricted as a reader

With this class coming to an end, I have been thinking through all the literature we have read and discussed. And with that in mind, I think my favorite books have been Water & Power and Housekeeping. However, prior to this class I probably would have never been open to picking those two books up and giving them a read in my own time. That isn’t necessarily because of the books makeup, structure, or plot; it is purely because of genre. I know that it is just human nature to read and do things that we inherently like of course. However, I do not want to feel stagnant in that while looking for books to pursue interest in for the future. I am a psychological thriller/horror or poetry junkie. It never gets any further than that range. However, I do not think there is anything inherently wrong with always reading what interests you because it is a good thing to know you can fall back on when looking for a good new book. But all I can say is I could not put Housekeeping down for the life of me. I became so engulfed in the story and the author’s writing style and I hope in the future to not feel so restricted to things I just am used to. I think it would be good for me and anyone for that matter to attempt to go out of your comfort zone to read and invest time in new things. And this is obviously a pretty easy concept to try new things, but I think this class just helped to reaffirm that for me and remind me of that too honestly. I haven’t read a book that I could not put down like I did with Housekeeping in a long time and I think that in itself says something.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Feeling restricted as a reader

  1. bmeyer22 says:

    I really relate to this. I don’t usually read many books anymore because I’m very picky with an author’s writing style/how they write in general (I can’t read YA because of this, whoops). Even though I initially dislike it, I love classes like this where I’m able to find tons of new, interesting books that I never would’ve known about otherwise. While I wouldn’t say I’m as picky with genre specifically, authors in specific genres do write a specific way compared to others in other genres, so it’s kinda the same, right?

Leave a comment